A Vacation. An ACTUAL Vacation.   2 comments

We went away. For TWO whole weeks. How do I know that it was long enough, and restful? After eating out, or having someone else cook for two weeks – I’ve been baking bread, making desserts and cooking every night. For me, that is a big deal. It means I had a break!

It didn’t start out well, but, at the risk of sounding like Pollyanna, it could have been so much worse! We began the first morning of vacation, after going to bed much too late, with a little voice saying “My stomach hurts” – and she was sick exactly one minute before the alarm went off. So, we did what we do best “divide and conquer.” One of us tended the ill, while the other wakened the well. And we all dressed, and ate, (but one) and drank coffee. Well, only two of us drank coffee, the kids had milk. And we got to the airport (with sound effects), and left my wonderful sister-in-law at the van.

Moving through the airport we experienced the wonders of capitalism. We had the right to check 10 bags. We checked five. One of them was over-weight. And so we paid a fine – even though we could have checked FIVE more bags. Moving on. I had stashed a mess of plastic bags (thanks Wal*mart!) in one of our carry-ons and proceeded to help one of my girls fill them periodically throughout the airport. We visited the bathroom on the way to security and then got into the line for security. I have decided that the way to get through public vomiting is to just pretend like nothing is happening. Use the bag, clean the child. Toss it out. Disinfect hands and pointedly ignore everyone in front ,behind, and around you. My ashen-faced young and the rest of the brood and I moved swiftly through security. The Lord? The threat of infection? And we made it to our gate. Sort of. We were the last to board and settled into our airline trip. Two out of three girls were SO. EXCITED. The other was finding out the use of the “motion discomfort” bags. Nice. If we were merely uncomfortable we wouldn’t need a bag, now would we? Anyway, we did the ugly traveler thing. We used all available – and stashed more in our carry-ons.

Woot! Free stuff from the airline!

With that inauspicious beginning, surely we were destined to infect all the people we stayed with, along with leveling ourselves, each individually throughout our two weeks, right? Nope! The Lord smiled on our trip and blessed us! We went on to tour Lancaster County in the company of my sweet family. We learned about the Pennsylvania German immigrants (including but not exclusive to the Amish), then we went on to see some of my husband’s family and do a lot of talking and laughing. Good times. Then on to Philadelphia – city of brotherly love! We saw, we paid exorbitant prices for parking, and we loved it. Independence Hall, Liberty Bell, The King Tut exhibit at The Franklin Institute… If anyone is looking for a recommendation – Go! Go! So much stuff to do and see – you can’t see it all unless you live there.

While immersing ourselves in Philly cheese steaks and soft pretzels we also saw some of my family, whom we hadn’t seen in years. It was wonderful to catch up over pizza. I’m talking a lot about food, aren’t I? Did I mention I didn’t cook for TWO weeks? Ah.

We ended the trip at the “shore.” One of my children spent quite a long time jumping up and down (over the small waves) yelling, “WATER!!!!!” There was sand, literally, everywhere. The first day the girls learned the word “chafing.” We laid around, played games and generally were lazy.

Anyway, two weeks of vacation (and field trips, but don’t tell my kids – one of them said “We aren’t going to LEARN anything. It isn’t school. This is VACATION.” we are home. It is good to be home, but it was lovely to be gone.

Posted October 4, 2007 by comomma in family

2 responses to “A Vacation. An ACTUAL Vacation.

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. yay, a blog i can access feeds to!! I look forward to many posts. VAcations sounds like fun, Did I tell you about the ‘vacation from hell’ my family took to Disney world? 24 hours one way in an rv and everyone but me got the barfies at some point. 🙂

  2. I’ve heard most of the stories already, and I experienced the barfing van ride to the airport at 5 a.m., but to read your blog version of it made me laugh (and cry) all over again!

Leave a Reply

