If I were truthful   1 comment

If I was brave enough to overwhelm people with the truth, if I was courageous enough to be (forgive me, I’m going to quote Christians) “real,” I would answer the question of how we are doing.

The truth is, my daughter rarely sleeps anymore. Her head hurts too much to let her. We’ve helped her maintain her weight, although the doctors keep harping on how skeletal she is. Last night she cried, and I cried with her, because I asked her what she wants to be when she grows up and she said she didn’t know, because she doesn’t know if she’ll be able to do anything, even college. Today her eyes are accentuated by the bruised coloring underneath them. It is getting worse and so, again, I am leaving messages for doctors.

I would tell you that she doesn’t want to do any appointments for awhile. I can’t say that I blame her, but it doesn’t stop me from wishing I could take her somewhere that she could get a solution, instead of another thing to try and hope.

If I were truthful, I would probably cry while I told you all of these things. I would look away, because I can’t stand crying in front of people and I would crumble if you touched me. But what will I really say? I’ll tell you we are the same, we are fine.

Posted January 4, 2011 by comomma in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

One response to “If I were truthful

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. in my experience most of the time when Christians say “real” they mean within the acceptable limits of church standard conversation. They don’t really want to hear REAL.

    I do though.

Leave a Reply

